Mixtape Riot Menu


Hard Times

I met Abu Sou (aka Breixo Barros) in a record store in Barcelona last Spring. We were digging through soul 45’s next to eachother and started a conversation. It was clearly meant to be, because within 5 mins I learned that he not only knew who I was, but had my music and was just as crazy about funky global disco sounds as I am. I ended up staying with him in BCN for several days, getting shown around properly, and was introduced to a bunch of his friends who are also all record junkies and music fiends. A sweetheart, a rebel, and a sound explorer, Abu Sou can be heard on his ScannerFM podcast or deejaying parties regularly in BCN. I’m happy to present this live mix he put together exclusively for Mixtape Riot– 67mins of funky disco, soulful house, and global goodies. He calls it “Hard Times”  because “Disco and House always grow on very bad social situations, like now in Spain.”

      Download as a single MP3


  1. Intro ft. Rev. J.M. Gates – These Hard Times (sermon) – Harte Records
  2. ENE! – The Latin Lover (Fuck Abu Raw Mix) – unreleased
  3. KZA – Goody Goody – Let’s Get Lost
  4. RAZE – Break For Love (Spanish Fly Mix) – Columbia
  5. Francis Interno Orchestra – Horizon Beat – Scucci Manucci
  6. Fries & Bridges – Forever This – Minority Music
  7. Genius Of Time – Houston We Have A Problem – Clone/Royal Oak
  8. Debonair – Your Love – House Of Disco
  9. Jacques Renault – Go For It – Let’s Get Lost
  10. Marvin & Guy – Town – Let’s Get Lost
  11. William Onyeabor – Good Name (Auntie Flo Edit) – unreleased
  12. Captain Planet – Bokazo – Bastard Jazz
  13. Gerry Read – Bozza – Delsin
  14. Django Django – Waveforms (Wild Geese Remix) – Because Music
  15. Michael Jackson – Thriller (Ooft Music Phazed Edit) – L.E.S.S.
  16. Andrés – Skate This Way – LaVida
  17. KYM – Give Me The Dance – Award Records
  18. Jim Bennet – Hold That Groove – People’s Potential Unlimited
  19. Rev. J.M. Gates with Leon Davis & Sisters Jordan & Norman – These Hard Times (sermon) – Harte Records
  • v

    No mix available no more..

  • Thanks for leaving a comment, please keep it clean. HTML allowed is strong, code and a href.